新闻中心

加拿大科学家发现低成本的砷化镓太阳能电池生产技术

【Date:2020-08-28】
加拿大的科学家发现了一项具有前景的砷化镓太阳能电池生产技术。让电池直接生长在硅衬底上是一项有前途的策略,能够削减某些技术过高的生产成本。通过使用多孔硅,科学家能够朝着以更低成本生产高性能III-V太阳能电池的目标迈进一大步。

砷化镓(GaAs)和其他III-V材料(按照它们在元素周期表中的分组命名)是广为人知的高性能太阳能电池材料,它们在转换效率综合记录中占据大多数席位。

但它们通常高达数百美元每瓦的生产成本意味这些电池仅限用于驱动卫星、无人机和其他电池性能优先于发电容量每瓦成本的利基领域。 将生产成本降低到主流太阳能应用能够利用其性能潜力的水平是一个非常重要的议题,近年来科学家们提出了实现这个目标的一些方法。

让GaAs层生长在硅衬底上是一个非常有前景的方式,能够剔除昂贵的锗原料,同时允许更大规模的生产。但这个方式生产的电池层瑕疵很多,限制了在太阳能电池中的性能。

加拿大舍布鲁克大学领导的科学家开展了关于使用多孔硅替代晶体硅(c-Si)是否能够带来改善的研究。这次调查的结果发布在期刊《太阳能材料与太阳能电池》中, 结果显示在其他方面保持一致的工艺中使用多孔硅替代晶体硅能够实现填充因子和开路电压的显著提升。

纳米异质外延;

这个团队使用了名为纳米异质外延(NHE)的工艺,在图形衬底上生长半导体层。团队使用了一个两步生长工艺,首先生长一个GaAs缓冲层弥合硅的孔隙,而后在565℃的温度下沉积主薄膜。


多孔硅上生长的尺寸为1×1 mm的电池具有56%的填充因子,而晶体硅上生长的则为41%。该团队将之归结于材料更少的瑕疵,导致了更低的重组和寄生损失。


团队指出,所生产电池的瑕疵水平仍需进一步降低以实现有利的电池性能,并表示增加硅的多孔性以使其更加灵活,和在两步生长工艺中更好地优化缓冲层,都是值得进一步研究的方向。


原文来自于 PV MAGAZINE.

News Center

The Canadian scientists discover low-cost gallium arsenide solar cell production technology

【Date:2020-08-28】

The Canadian scientists have discovered a promising production technology for gallium arsenide solar cells. Growing cells directly on silicon substrates is a promising strategy that can reduce the excessively high production costs of certain technologies. By using porous silicon, scientists can take a big step towards the goal of producing high-performance III-V solar cells at a lower cost.

Gallium arsenide (GaAs) and other III-V materials (named according to their groupings in the periodic table) are well-known high-performance solar cell materials, and they occupy most of the seats in the comprehensive record of conversion efficiency.

But their production costs, which are usually hundreds of dollars per watt, mean that these batteries are limited to driving satellites, drones and other niche areas where battery performance takes priority over the cost per watt of power generation capacity. Reducing production costs to a level where mainstream solar applications can take advantage of their performance potential is a very important issue. In recent years, scientists have proposed some methods to achieve this goal.

Growing GaAs layers on silicon substrates is a very promising way to eliminate expensive germanium raw materials while allowing larger-scale production. However, the battery layer produced by this method has many defects, which limits the performance in solar cells.

Scientists led by the University of Sherbrooke in Canada have conducted research on whether replacing crystalline silicon (c-Si) with porous silicon can bring improvements. The results of this survey were published in the journal "Solar Materials and Solar Cells". The results showed that using porous silicon instead of crystalline silicon in other consistent processes can achieve a significant increase in fill factor and open circuit voltage.

Nano heterogeneity epitaxial ;

The team used a process called Nano Hetero-Epitaxial (NHE) to grow semiconductor layers on patterned substrates. The team used a two-step growth process. First, a GaAs buffer layer was grown to bridge the pores of silicon, and then the main film was deposited at a temperature of 565°C.

Cells grown on porous silicon with a size of 1×1 mm have a fill factor of 56%, while those grown on crystalline silicon have a fill factor of 41%. The team attributed this to fewer defects in the material, resulting in lower reorganization and parasitic losses.

The team pointed out that the defect level of the produced battery still needs to be further reduced in order to achieve favorable battery performance, and said that increasing the porosity of silicon to make it more flexible and better optimizing the buffer layer in the two-step growth process are all worthwhile Directions for further research.


The original text comes from PV MAGAZINE.