新闻中心

太阳能电池板能使用多长时间?

【Date:2020-06-10】

25年(或更长时间)。这是一级制造商的行业标准保修。实际上,太阳能电池板的使用寿命可能会更长:保修期通常保证太阳能电池板在25年后的工作效率将达到其额定效率的80%以上。NREL的一项研究表明,近80%的太阳能电池板的使用寿命比其保修期限长。尽管产量略有降低,但大多数太阳能电池板在25年后仍会产生能量。


标准太阳能电池板保修

太阳能电池板的典型保修期为25年。在此期间,制造商保证面板将以最高或接近峰值效率运行。大多数面板在保修期内至少可产生其额定输出的80%。例如,一个300瓦的面板在25年保修期结束时应产生至少240瓦(其额定输出的80%)。一些公司提供30年保修或承诺85%的效率,但是这些都是离群值。标准是25年,效率为80%。太阳能电池板还具有单独的工艺保修,以涵盖任何制造缺陷,例如接线盒或框架故障。通常,工艺保修为10年,有些制造商提供20年工艺保修。

那么……太阳能电池板能持续多久?

那么25年过去之后会发生什么呢? 效率达到80%的面板仍然可以工作,如果您的面板仍能输出能量,则没有真正的理由更换它们。太阳能电池板在保修到期后很长时间经常会产生能量。根据国家可再生能源实验室2012年的一项研究,太阳能电池板的平均降解率每年在0.5%至0.8%之间。降级速率是太阳能电池板随时间推移而失去效率的速率。每年降解率为1%的面板在10年后效率将降低10%。实际上,有78%的受测系统每年的降级率不到1%。这意味着在使用25年后,大约五分之四的太阳能电池板仍可以以75%或更高的效率运行。此时,可以合理估计,在保修期很长之后,您的太阳能电池板仍会以一定容量产生能量。

我们不能保证面板将超过其保修期限(毕竟这是保修的重点)。但是实际上,大多数太阳能电池板在使用寿命延长后很长时间仍会降低产量。这是因为太阳能电池板没有任何活动部件,因此往往非常可靠。如果您的太阳能系统得到了回报,并且您的面板仍在继续生产,那么您的投资回报率将远远超出任何在线计算器(包括我们的计算器)提供给您的估计。


如何延长系统寿命

请记住,太阳能电池板可能会成为您太阳能系统中最富弹性的部分。您仍然需要维护或更换逆变器和电池,以确保一切正常。逆变器的使用寿命比面板的使用寿命短,无论您使用哪种类型的系统,都需要更换逆变器。如果您处于离网状态(或与备用电池并网),则电池维护和更换将为您增加额外的成本。

保护投资的最佳方法是在安装后彻底检查系统。检查机架,以确保面板和接线牢固。面板寿命最大的威胁是由于安装不当而造成的物理损坏或电气故障。

十年后更换逆变器

大多数并网逆变器具有10年的保修期,许多制造商提供了将其升级到20至25年的保修期的选项。逆变器的保修期延长是一项明智的投资。可以肯定的是,在太阳能电池板上的保修期到之前,您至少要更换一次逆变器。如果您的逆变器在未来15年内发生故障,则很可能会用更新更好的型号来代替它。向逆变器制造商咨询有关其扩展保修选项和政策的信息。扩展保修直接从制造商处购买。离网逆变器的保修期较短。它们的范围是1-5年,对于某些型号,可以延长到10年。

维护和更换电池

电池维护和更换是与离网系统相关的主要费用之一。即使是低维护性的电池类型,例如锂电池和密封铅酸电池,仍然需要每年进行几次检查。根据品牌,大多数电池的保修期为3-10年。但是,如果您不妥善保管电池,则在拥有的第一年内它们可能会失效。例如,铅酸电池在使用后需要完全充电,如果长时间不充电就将永久损坏。大多数高质量的离网深循环电池将持续5至15年,具体取决于电池类型以及其使用和维护方式。您可以通过正确保养并确保正确安装电池来延长电池寿命。

最好的办法是从一开始就正确设计系统。预先考虑适当的电池容量,太阳能和逆变器输出,以确保一切正常运行。

造成效率损失的原因

这是主要的要点:在保修期结束之前,您极不可能需要更换太阳能电池板。太阳能电池板的使用寿命很长-比系统的其他部分更长。

但是,效率损失可能意味着您的系统不再能满足您的能源需求。如果您的系统输出减少(或能源使用量增加),则可以在新旧部件兼容的情况下为系统增加容量。

News Center

How Long Do Solar Panels Last?

【Date:2020-06-10】

25 years (or longer). This is the industry standard warranty from Tier 1 manufacturers. In reality, solar panels can last quite a bit longer than that: the warranty typically guarantees panels will work above 80% of their rated efficiency after 25 years. A study by NREL shows that nearly 80% of solar panels last longer than their warranty. The majority of panels still produce energy after 25 years, albeit at slightly reduced output.


Standard Solar Panel Warranties

The typical warranty for solar panels is 25 years. During this period, manufacturers guarantee that panels will operate at or near peak efficiency. Most panels are covered to produce at least 80% of their rated output over the life of the warranty. For example, a 300 watt panel should produce at least 240 watts (80% of its rated output) at the end of a 25-year warranty. Some companies offer 30 year warranties or promise 85% efficiency, but these are outliers. The standard is 25 years at 80% efficiency.

Solar panels also have a separate workmanship warranty, to cover any manufacturing defects, such as a faulty junction box or frame. Typically the workmanship warranty is 10 years, with some manufacturers offering a 20 year workmanship warranty.



So…How Long Do Solar Panels Last, Really?

So what happens after the 25 year mark is up? Panels that output at 80% efficiency still work. If your panels still output energy, there’s no real reason to replace them. Panels frequently produce energy long after their warranty expires. According to a 2012 study by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory [PDF], the average degradation rate for panels is between 0.5% to 0.8% per year. Degradation rate is the rate at which solar panels lose efficiency over time. A panel with a degradation rate of 1% per year will be 10% less efficient after 10 years. In fact, 78% of systems tested had a degradation rate of less than 1% per year. That means that after 25 years of use, about 4 out of 5 solar panels still operate at 75% efficiency or better. At this point, it’s fair to estimate your solar panels will still produce energy in some capacity, long after the warranty is up. 

We can’t guarantee panels will outlive their warranty (that’s the point of a warranty, after all). But in reality, most panels keep producing at reduced capacity long after their lifespan should be up. This is because solar panels don’t have any moving parts, and therefore tend to be extremely reliable. If your solar system is paid off and your panels keep producing, your ROI will stretch far beyond the estimate provided to you by any online calculators (including ours).


How to Extend the Life of Your System

Keep in mind solar panels are likely going to be the most resilient part of your solar system. You’ll still need to maintain or replace inverters and batteries to keep everything running. Inverters have a shorter lifespan than your panels, and will need to be replaced regardless of what type of system you have. If you’re off-grid (or grid-tied with a battery backup), battery maintenance and replacement will add extra costs for you down the line.

The best way to protect your investment is to inspect the system thoroughly upon installation. Check your racking to make sure the panels and wiring are secure. The biggest threats to the life of your panels are physical damage or electrical failure due to subpar installation.


Replace Inverters After 10 Years
Most grid-tie inverters have a 10-year warranty, and many manufacturers give the option to upgrade to 20 to 25-year warranty coverage.
Warranty extensions for inverters are a smart investment. It’s safe to assume you’ll replace your inverter at least once before the warranty on your panels is up. If your inverter fails 15 years down the road, it will likely be replaced with a newer and better model.
Check with the inverter manufacturer about their extended warranty options and policies. Extended warranties are purchased directly from the manufacturer. 

Off-grid inverters have shorter warranties. They range from 1-5 years, with extensions up to 10 years available for a few models.


Maintain and Replace Batteries
Battery maintenance and replacement is one of the main expenses associated with off-grid systems. Even lower-upkeep battery types, like lithium and sealed lead acid batteries, still need to be inspected a few times per year. Most batteries come with a warranty of 3-10 years, depending on the brand. But if you don’t care for your batteries properly, they can fail within the first year of ownership. For example, lead acid batteries need to be fully recharged after being used, and they will be permanently damaged if they sit for extended periods without being recharged. Most high-quality off-grid deep cycle batteries will last between 5-15 years, depending on the battery type and how they are used and maintained. You can extend the life of your batteries by caring for them properly and by ensuring they’re installed correctly.

The best thing you can do is design your system properly from the start. Account for the proper amount of battery capacity, solar power, and inverter output up front to keep everything working properly.


Account For Efficiency Loss
Here’s the main takeaway: it’s highly unlikely that you will need to replace your solar panels before the warranty is up. Solar panels last a long time – longer than the other parts of the system.

However, the efficiency loss may mean your system no longer covers your energy needs. If your system output shrinks (or your energy usage grows), it’s possible to add capacity to your system, assuming the old and new parts are compatible.